CDAS’ Nancy Wolff Examines the “Anatomy of an Ad” at the Cardozo Advertising Law Symposium

Join Nancy and other legal and advertising experts as they put advertising under a microscope, taking an in-depth view of the deals, the laws, the risks and the trends in today’s “ad biz.” Register here for the March 23rd event at the Cardozo School of Law.

CDAS Partners Briana C. Hill and Benjamin Jaffe Named Co-Chairs of the Entertainment and the Digital Media & Technology groups, respectively.

Briana Hill, Co-Head of the Beverly Hills office of Cowan DeBaets Abrahams & Sheppard LLP, joins Fred Bimbler and Simon Pulman in leading the firm’s Entertainment group, which includes televison (traditional to broadband), streaming, film, new media, talent, theatre and podcasting. The group assists clients with their entertainment projects through early development, the solicitation of investment, production and ultimate distribution, securing all necessary rights and negotiating agreements with top-tier talent.

Ben Jaffe joins Joshua Sessler in leading the Digital Media & Technology group that represents top digital talent, including game developers and distributors, digital agencies, production houses, broadband video networks, mobile app developers, podcasters and social media ventures. The group provides counsel to a wide range of social media, transmedia and mobile plays that are using emerging software and hardware technologies to create, develop and distribute content in new ways.

CDAS Named a Top Tier Firm, Nationally, for Entertainment Law and Trademark Law in U.S. News – Best Lawyers® “Best Law Firms in America 2020,” and achieved High Rankings in Copyright and Media Law

CDAS achieved a Tier 1 ranking nationally for Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures & Television as well as Trademark Law. The firm was also ranked nationally in Tier 2 for Copyright Law. Within New York City, CDAS was ranked in Tier 1 for Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures & Television, Copyright Law and Trademark Law, and in Tier 3 for Media Law.

These competitive rankings are based on extensive client and peer review, focused on practice group expertise, responsiveness, understanding of business needs, cost-effectiveness, and other important parameters. Inclusion in “Best Law Firms” is considered a significant achievement.

Nancy E. Wolff Named Best Lawyers® 2020 “Lawyer Of The Year” in Trademark Law, Five CDAS Attorneys Named to The Best Lawyers in America® 2020

Five CDAS attorneys have been selected for inclusion in the 26th Edition of The Best Lawyers in America. Nancy E. Wolff was also named a Best Lawyers® 2020 “Lawyer of the Year” in Trademark Law.

Published since 1983, Best Lawyers is highly regarded because lawyers are included on the “Best Lawyers” list based entirely on peer-review. The “Lawyer of the Year” awards launched in 2009 and are given to individual lawyers with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region. Only one lawyer is recognized for each specialty and location.

Lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore inclusion in Best Lawyers® is considered a singular honor.

The CDAS attorneys listed in the 2020 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America are:

Frederick P. Bimbler         Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures and Television

Susan H. Bodine                Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures and Television, Media Law

Andrea F. Cannistraci       Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures and Television

Stephen Sheppard             Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures and Television

Nancy E. Wolff                   Copyright Law, Trademark Law

Simon N. Pulman and Scott J. Sholder Shortlisted for Euromoney LMG 2019 “Americas Rising Stars” Awards

CDAS partners Simon N. Pulman and Scott J. Sholder both earned Euromoney Legal Media Group “2019 Americas Rising Stars Awards” nominations in the categories of “best in media and entertainment” and “best in copyright and trademark,” respectively.

For the purpose of these awards, “rising stars” are defined as lawyers under the age of 40 on October 1, 2019. To review the full shortlist, click here. The awards will be presented at a ceremony on September 12th at The Pierre in New York City.